Ministry of Transport Malaysia

Development & Administration of Ports

​​​​​​Currently, Malaysia has a total of seven (7) main federal ports namely Penang Port, Port Klang, Kuantan Port, Kemaman Port, Johor Port, Port of Tanjung Pelepas and Bintulu Port. Meanwhile, all the p​orts in Sabah and Sarawak (except Bintulu Port and Labuan Port) are under the jurisdiction of the State Governments of Sabah and Sarawak respectively.​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​The administration of ports are legislated under the respective port act. Port Authorities were established to govern the following federal ports:

Ports Authorities​​​​
Related Acts
Penang Port Penang Port Commission Penang Port Comission
Act 1955

Teluk Ewa Port
Penang Port Commission (Teluk Ewa)
Port Klang Port Klang Authority Port Authorities
Act 1963
Tanjung Bruas Port Malacca Port Authority
Kuantan Port Kuantan Port Authority
Kemaman Port Kemaman Port Authority
Johor Port Johor Port Authority
Port of Tanjung Pelepas
Bintulu Port Bintulu Port Authority Bintulu Port Authority
Act 1981

Labuan Port Labuan Port Authority

The major port operations have been privatized to the following operators: ​

Federal Ports Ports Operator
Penang Port Penang Port Sdn Bhd
Teluk Ewa Port Keda Cement Jetty Sdn Bhd
Port Klang
- Northport
- Westports
Northport (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd
Westports Malaysia Sdn Bhd
Tanjung Bruas Port Tanjung Bruas Port Sdn Bhd
Kuantan Port Kuantan Port Consortium Sdn Bhd
Kemaman Port Konsortium Pelabuhan Kemaman Sdn Bhd
Johor Port Johor Port Berhad
Tanjung Pelepas Port Pelabuhan Tanjung Pelepas Sdn Bhd
Bintulu Port Bintulu Port Sdn Bhd