Ministry of Transport Malaysia

Aviation Division

How many international airports are there in Malaysia?

There are 7 international airports in Malaysia, which are the KLIA, KLIA2, Langkawi, Penang, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching and Johor Bahru.

How many airports handle international flights other than the designated international airports in Malaysia?

Apart from the 6 international airports in Malaysia, Kota Bharu, Kuantan, Subang, Melaka, Senai, Tioman, Ipoh, Sandakan, Tawau, Labuan, Sibu, Bintulu and Miri airports also capable of handling international or foreign flights. These airports have also been declared as gateways to Malaysia. These airports fulfill the guidelines set by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) under Annex 9, which pertains to customs, immigration, and quarantine facilitation.

What are the differences between airports and airstrips?

Generally, airports handle various aircraft larger than Fokker50 compared to the facilities provided by airstrips, which can only handle smaller aircraft. Apart from that airports have control towers unlike airstrips where such infrastructure is not available.

What is a Full Service Carrier?

A Full Service Carrier provides in-flight meals, entertainment and other complementary services. Hence, the fares charged are generally higher. It services also incorporate hub and spoke networks and it offers a variety of air travel classes such as first (F), business (C) and economy (E) classes.

What is the difference in terms of operations between Full Service Carriers and Low Cost Carriers?

In terms of technical and operational requirements, there is no difference as both types of carriers follow the rules and regulations on safety and technical aspects as stipulated in the Air Operator's Certificate (AOC) issued by the Department of Civil Aviation (DCA).

What is an Aerodrome/Airport Operating License and who issues this license?

An Aerodrome/Airport Operating License is issued to airport operators (e.g. MAHB) by the Ministry of Transport under section 24A Civil Aviation Act (CAA) 1969 to manage an airport. The Department of Civil Aviation (DCA) oversees the airport operators.

What are the differences between a scheduled flight and a non-scheduled flight?

Scheduled flight services means flights that are operated to serve air traffic according to a published timetable or flights that so regular or frequent that they constitute a recognizably systematic series. Non-scheduled flights mean air services other than scheduled flights.

What is an Air Operators Certificate (AOC)?

A flight operator with a valid ASL/ASP must successfully undergo a technical audit by the DCA before the issuance of an AOC. The issuance of an AOC falls under rule 24(1) and (2) which requires applicants to be competent to provide safe flight operations and it must be renewed every year. ASL/ASP and AOC are two important documents, which are required for air services.​​