FAQ Contact Us Complaints & Feedback Site Map


Currently, Malaysia has a total of seven (7) major Federal ports namely Port Klang, Johor Port, Port of Tanjung Pelepas, Kuantan Port, Penang Port, Bintulu Port and Kemaman Port. Meanwhile, the ports in Sabah and Sarawak are under the jurisdiction of the State Government of Sabah and Sarawak respectively.​

Development & Administration of Ports​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​The administrations of ports are legislated under the port acts. Port Authority was established to govern the following major ports:

Major Ports​​

​Local Authorities​

​Related Acts

Penang Port

​Penang Port Commission

Penang Port Commission Act 1955

​Port Klang

Port Klang Authority


Port Authorities Act 1963

​​ ​ ​ ​​

Johor Port

​Johor Port Authority

​Port of Tanjung Pelepas

​Johor Port Authority (Tanjung Pelepas)

​Kuantan Port

​Kuantan Port Authority

Kemaman Port

​Kemaman Port Authority

Malacca Port

Malacca Port Authority

Teluk Ewa Port

Teluk Ewa Port Authority

​Bintulu Port

​​Bintulu Port Authority

​Bintulu Port Authority Act 1981

The major port operations have been privatized to the following operators:

​​Major Ports

Ports Operator​​

Port Klang​​
- North Port
- West Port

Northports Sdn Bhd
Westports Sdn Bhd

Johor Port​​

Johor P​ort Sdn Bhd​​

Kuantan Port

Kuantan Port Consortium Sdn Bhd​​

Bintulu Port​​

Bintulu Port Sdn Bhd​​

Tanjung Pelepas Port​​

​Port of Tanjung Pelepas Sdn Bhd​​

​Pulau Pinang Port ​​

​Penang Port Sdn Bhd​​

Pelabuhan 2 (2).jpg
Pelabuhan (2).jpg

The main terms of port privatization concessions are as follows:

      1. Land are leased to the operator
      2. ​Operation lincence
      3. Operator responsible for the development/ port expansion
​​ ​