FAQ Contact Us Complaints & Feedback Site Map


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​

​Association of Southeast ASEAN​ Nations (ASEAN)​

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a political and economic organisation of ten Southeast Asian countries. It was formed on 8 August 1967. Its aims include accelerating economic growth, social progress, and sociocultural evolution among its members, protection of regional peace and stability, and opportunities for member countries to resolve differences peacefully.​​


The Task Force Meeting which is chaired by Malaysia is intended to develop the strategik plan for ASEAN transport sector for the period of 10 years, starting from 2016 to 2025. The plan covers five key areas of transport, namely, air transport, land transport, maritime transport, transport facilitation and sustainable transport. The meeting has achieved considerable progress over the past one year in developing the vision and framework for post 2015 transport cooperation, as well as the ASEAN transport action plan for 2016-2025.​

Malaysia plays an important role in developing the strategic plan with clearly defined outputs and timelines to ensure successful implementation of the plan.​

​Mesyuarat ​1st Task Force Development of Successor ASEAN Strategic Transport Plan dan Mesyuarat Ke-37 Pegawai-Pegawai Kanan Pengangkutan ASEAN (​ASEAN Senior Transport Officials Meeting - STOM) di Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar dari 2 hingga 6 Jun 2014.

Malaysia mempengerusikan Mesyuarat 1st Task Force Development of Successor ASEAN Strategic Transport Plan

Malaysia selaku Timbalan Pengerusi Mesyuarat Ke-37 Pegawai-Pegawai Kanan Pengangkutan ASEAN​​​​

STOM and ATM are the main platforms for ASEAN transport sector to establish policies and to continuously monitoring their implementation. ​


To strengthen the functions of STOM, several working groups have been established based on the key sectors of transport, namely Land Transport Working Group (LTWG), Air Transport Working Group (ATWG), Maritime Transport Working Group (MTWG) and Transport Facilitation Working Group (TFWG). The deliberations and outcomes of these meetings will be reported to STOM and subsequently to ATM for policy guidance and endorsement. ​​​​

​ ​ ​

YBhg. Datuk Dr. KSU selaku Timbalan Pengerusi bagi Mesyuarat Ke-38 Pegawai-Pegawai Kanan Pengangkutan ASEAN​​

YB Menteri Pengangkutan ketika Mesyuarat Ke-20 Menteri-Menteri Pengangkutan ASEAN di Mandalay, Myanmar​​​​

Delegasi MOT ke Mesyuarat Ke-20 Menteri-Menteri Pengangkutan ASEAN di Mandalay, Myanmar pada 27 dan 28 November 2014​​​

​ ​

​Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT)​​

Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT) is a sub-regional cooperation initiative established in 1993 by Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand in order to accelerate the economic transformation in less developed areas in the sub-region. ​​​

​ ​​​​​

The IMT-GT has grown in geographic scope and activities to cover more than 70 millions people. It now consists of 14 provinces in southern Thailand, 8 states in Peninsular Malaysia and 10 provinces in Sumatra, Indonesia. The private sector is the backbone of this cooperation and will continue to play an important role in promoting economic cooperation under the IMT-GT.​

The Ministry of Transport is directly involved in the IMT-GT cooperation as a lead agency of Malaysia in the Working Group on Infrastructure and Transport (WGIT).

​ ​

​East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA)​​​

The Brunei-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) was formally established on March 24, 1994, in Davao City, Mindanao, Philippines.

​ ​​​​​
​​ ​ ​

This cooperation covers the eastern part of ASEAN namely Brunei Darussalam; provinces in Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku and Papua in eastern of Indonesia; the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Labuan in Malaysia; and Mindanao and Palawan in the Philippines. The region covers an area of 1.54 million square kilometers with a population of about 70 million people. The focus area has vast potential for development in trade, investment and tourism.​

As a show of commitment to the development of the transport sector in the region, the four countries agreed in 2006 to inaugurate the BIMP-EAGA Transport Ministers Meeting. BIMP-EAGA TMM is an annual meeting that discusses ways and measures to accelerate regional cooperation in transport sector to enhance the economic growth of eastern ASEAN.​

The Ministry of Transport is involved in the Transport Cluster. Member countries had previously signed and implemented three transport MOU’s covering the granting of fifth freedom traffic rights (fifth freedom) on the main international airport as well as facilitate cross-border movement of commercial buses and trucks. These MOU’s are important steps for creating a multi-modal transport network in the sub-region to support the movement of people and goods across borders.

The 9th BIMP-EAGA Transport Minister Meeting​ Pada 18 – 20 November 2014 Bandar Seri Begawan Brunei Darussalam​

Menteri Pengangkutan dan wakil Kementerian Pengangkutan Negara BIMP-EAGA ​​

Menteri Pengangkutan bersama Ketua Delegasi serta agensi yang terlibat dengan Mesyuarat BIMP-EAGA TMM​​​​

Timbalan Menteri Pengangkutan Malaysia beserta Ketua Delegasi Malaysia hadir ke Mesyuarat BIMP-EAGA TMM ​​​