Larger Text Default Text Smaller Text
​ ​



​​Asi​a-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)​​​​​​

APEC was established in 1989 and now comprises of 21 countries, including Malaysia. It is an international forum which provide a platform for discussion and economic cooperation among the countries of the Asia Pacific region.​​​​​​​

​​​ ​

​APEC Goal

APEC's main goals is to create a free trade and investment in accordance with the 1994 Bogor Declaration, taking into consideration the different levels of development among member countries. Three main focus of APEC include:

  1. Trade and investment liberalization;
  2. Trade facilitation; and
  3. Economic and technical cooperation.

Ministry of Transport involvement in APEC cooperation consists of two main areas, namely Transportation Working Group Meeting (TPTWG) which is held regularly twice a year and Transportation Ministerial Meeting (TMM) which held once every two years. TPTWG meeting will starts with the Head of Delegation Meeting (HODs), which will provide guidance on any issues that would be raised in the Expert Group and Sub-Group Meeting. There are 4 Expert Group Meeting; i.e. Aviation Experts Group (AEG), Land Experts Group Meeting (LEG), the Maritime Experts Group Meeting (MEG) and the Intermodal and Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Experts Group Meeting (IIEG).

Transport Working Group aims to achieve the liberalization of transport services and effort to improve the safety of APEC transport systems that will promote economic development in the Asia-Pacific region. It also seeks to balance the safety and environmental requirements with trade facilitation initiative. Efforts are also focused on initiatives to simplify the rules of domestic policy, the development of inter-modal supply chain and a secured transport activities. Simultaneously, similar measures were also taken by other APEC members to strengthen the security of all modes of transport which include land, sea and air.

The 41st APEC-TPTWG was held from 26 - 29 May 2015 in Jeju, South Korea.​​​ The 42nd APEC-TPTWG was held from 4-7 April 2016 in Papua Guinea. Malaysia will host the 43rd APEC-TPTWG at Royale Chulan Hotel, Kuala Lumpur from 6-9 September 2016.

In addition, the Ministry of Transport is also involved in the Transportation Ministerial Meeting which is held once every two years. The previous 8th APEC Transportation Ministerial Meeting (TMM8) was held from 4 till 6 September 2013 in Tokyo, Japan. The next 9th APEC Transportation Ministerial Meeting (TMM9) will be held from 8 - 10 October 2015 in Cebu, Philippines. TMM will be attended by the Minister or Deputy Minister of Transport with senior officials of the ministry.​

This meeting provides a vast opportunity for Ministers of Transport from the Asia Pacific Region to meet and discuss on issues of cooperation in transportation sector. It also provides an opportunity for the countries concerned to discuss information sharing, capacity building and coordination between countries on transportation issues including transporation security in order to secure a fast and efficient regional and international transport services. ​


Women in Transportation Forum on 4 September 2013

Deputy Transport Minister with Transport Minister of Singapore during the 8th TMM on 5 September 2013

Deputy Transport Minister with Transport Minister of Indonesia during the 8th TMM on 5 September 2013​

​ ​